My first blog entry

setup_by_figureduchess-d70boh2

So… here we are!

A happy New Year to everyone out there!

This will be my first entry to my new shiny blog! (okay it’s not that shiny.. and it’s been up for a few weeks so it’s not exactly ‘new’ either) but you have to start somewhere and what better date to submit your first entry than the first day of a new year.

First of all: What is this blog about?

“Figure Reviews and Otaku Stuff” it says at the top of the page.

I’ll be writing mainly about the figure collecting hobby: Releases, preorders, prototypes, all that jazz and I’ll do (of course) reviews of my collection or newest additions to it.
If big-busted pvc girls in skimpy clothes are crossing your mind right now, I’m really sorry, but you’ll be horribly, horribly disappointed.
Of my current 31 scaled figures, only 4 are female. So it’s not to say that I don’t own any female figures at all but I’ve mostly ‘specialized’ in collecting the dudes. Probably because I’m female myself and big-busted pvc girls in skimpy clothes are therefore not really my cup of tea.
Bear with me. An occasional review of a girl-figure will happen.

I’ll also be writing about Manga and Anime in general (who would have thought? Show me an anime figure collector who doesn’t watch anime…). New seasons in Japan, Merchandise, maybe a bit traditional stuff as well. We’ll see.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

…┬─┬ ノ( ゜-゜ノ) a little bit about myself:

My name’s Laura, I’m 24 and I live in Germany (Bavaria to be more precise).
Why do I write all of this in English? Simply because more people will be able to read it.

I started reading Manga when I was 13. With Anime I basically grew up (without even realizing that these funny cartoon kids shows I used to watch were Anime).
I got into the hobby the “usual” way. I watched dubbed Anime, read Manga, started drawing, then the internetz came along and introduced me to the wonderful world of scanlations and fansubs. I got to know some people with the same interests, went to conventions and so on.

I think that’s all the information I can come up with right now (you don’t even want to know how long it took me to write all this). If there’s some unanswered questions, leave them in the comments-section below. I’ll answer them as soon as possible.

And also if you’ve got some time tomorrow, feel free to drop by: By then I’ve got a bit of loot to show you :)

(Before I forget: here’s some links!
My collection so far:                                                                                         http://myfigurecollection.net/profile/FigureDuchess
Photos and pics will be uploaded on my dev account: http://figureduchess.deviantart.com/
I’ve also signed up on dannychoo’s (work in progress) )

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My first blog entry

  1. can´t wait for the reviews :3

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    That is quite a collection!

Leave a Reply

