Why is no one talking about….?

img_all

I think I happened to stumble across a glitch in the matrix in the figure collecting community.

I mean, no matter how bizarre the figure there will always be people talking about it. If it’s great, people will comment how great it is. If it’s bad, people will comment how shitty it is. But no reaction at all? I’ve never seen that… until recently.

Kaiyodo’s Revoltech Takeya – Buddhist Statue Collection

I was really, really surprised to see that this line was actually started back in 2012. As the name already suggests, they are Revoltechs of Buddhist deities. There are also deities that imo should be rather well-known in the western world, like Ashura, Fuujin and Raijin. There are a total of about 15 different deities in different styles and color variants and the only one that has a discussion going on is the Kirin? I’m not trying to complain, I’m just really curious why this line is getting the silent treatment.

I’m not even a fan of Revoltechs. I’ve owned some of them in the past, liked the Gurren Lagann ones but think they should stay away from human characters because the details especially of the faces are disappointing af. I’m also not a big fan of the size. Why are they so small?

On the other hand, this. I’m really intrigued by the overall idea of posable deities, the designs look great to me and I love that you can get these in wooden, bronze or iron optics in addition to the traditional color version. In fact, I just ordered the Karura Wood Version yesterday. I don’t know why but Karura is my freakin spirit animal (can you even name it that way) and I was more than surprised to see that a figure of this actually exists.

Who knows, I might start to collect the whole series if I like the look once he/it gets here. Maybe that is also a reason no one is talking about this? Does the finished product not live up to the product pictures? Is their posability that bad? Is no one interested in Buddhist action figures? I would really like to know what you guys think about it so leave a comment below ;)

This entry was posted in Figures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is no one talking about….?

  1. Pingback: Kaiyodo Revoltech – Karura Wood Vers. | The Figure Duchess

Leave a Reply

