VIZ Media Claymore Complete Box Set

Well, well, well, what do we have here :)

This box had been on my wishlist for a long time now and as it hit a new price-low on amazon (as a UK import) I just had to get it!

(click to enlarge)

People who’ve seen the anime were probably as pissed as me with the ending of the show. Getting the manga is non-optional if you’d like to know how the story continues (and ends). Good thing VIZ saved the day again with the release of this complete box set containing all 27 volumes and a little artbooklet.

I got this as a UK import for 100€/~$112, so I payed 3,70€/~$4,15 per volume (which cost ~8,90€/$9,99 individually). Needless to say, the box and artbook get thrown in for free as well. Had i bought the German release single volumes I would have paid around 80€ more, so getting this edition is really a no-brainer.

The layout of the box is identical to the Fullmetal Alchemist Complete Box (which I already reviewed here). Velcro to close and open the box, a handle on top to carry around comfortably, box divided in 2 parts to hold the volumes.

Still, I like the design of the Claymore box a tad more than the Fullmetal one simply because the latter ruins the box design by listing the contents on the back. The claymore box has artwork all around without unnecessary text disrupting the design.

Despite its manga release in Germany, Claymore doesn’t seem to be a topic that comes up often. There are actually quite a view people talking badly about it, which puzzles me a bit now that I’ve read through the series.

The manga is a quick read but nevertheless enjoyable. The first couple of volumes are a bit wonky art-wise. The action panels felt stiff and the style wasn’t fully developed but that’s quite common in longer-running series’, isn’t it?

Once he found his style Norihiro Yagi’s art is quite eye-catching. Especially the monster-designs are absolutely impressive.

I remember the anime being kind of dull. Not a lot of characters – and none of them were really likeable? The manga, on the other hand, surprised me with a vast cast of different and well-fleshed out personalities. The story is fast-paced but never rushed and I simply adore the ending.

I wonder why Yagi-sensei never picked up the pencil again after finishing Claymore. Yeah, you heard right. Claymore was only his second series and also his last. I have no idea what happened to him and why he never started another story. Sad :<

The artbooklet provides you with 54 illustrations originally printed on the cases of the Japanese volumes and nicely represent the development Yagi-sensei’s artstyle went through.

So here you go, my impression on the second complete box in my possession. I have a feeling it won’t be the last. I’m watching you, VIZ :)

This entry was posted in Anime & Manga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VIZ Media Claymore Complete Box Set

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.

    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just
    wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

